Apron of the Day: Clothespin Edition

Yes, my friends, I’m still turning out aprons as if they represent a way of life, The Path, an income stream, or a sensible way for a Bluestocking to spend her declining years. None of these choices make sense.

I sew aprons mostly because they’re a useful way to display great printed fabric and amusing trim.  I mostly make reversible aprons because they afford me the chance to feature two fabrics, and because I can avoid using my least favorite sewing supply: seam binding. No matter how careful I am when I baste or pin it to the fabric’s edge, I always come to tears.

This model, new to me, features seam binding. Next time I’ll use it only to edge the pocket, not to bind the sides or hem.

Gather around, children. Once upon a time there was no such thing as a clothes dryer. People strung a long cord in the back card, and hung the wet clothes to dry on it using  a small instrument called a clothespin. A big load of wash would require scores of clothespins.

The clothespin apron features a pocket to contain them. A big pocket, almost the size it the front of the apron. This one is big enough to hold a cookbook, glasses, cell phone and a two month old apronaproninfant.

 

 

 

 

 

Apologies to Loulander fans: The full-length photograph I took of him is so dark and dismal that I’ll skip it this time round.

3 Comments

Filed under A yard of fabric, Apron of the Day, Cheap and Cheerful Object of the Day, Needlework, Sewing

3 responses to “Apron of the Day: Clothespin Edition

  1. Charming, cheerful, but WAY more chic than cheap. I so love aprons—wear one in the kitchen, even over the rattiest Clorox-riddled shirt and grubby shorts.

    I’m STILL lovin’ my exquisite Asian-lady one, but do keep it for SPECIAL.
    BLUESTOCKING. I DO love that word, and have vague, vivid imaginary meanings floating around. My own would be classed more as sort of greige, for I’ve not the intellect, verve nor figure, nor have I mastered the art of glasses-as-a-headband, which is how I picture you as the perfect prototype.

    .

  2. Home

    I want this one!!!! Do I get first dibs at buying it!!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

