Object of the Day: Tisket! Taskit! Check Out My New Basket

Some goofball once said something like: “Pleasure postponed is pleasure doubled.” I’m not all about instant gratification; that two day UPS hang time is about perfect. The fine folks at L L Bean backordered my bike basket for a friggin’ month and a half.  Shipping, as always, was free.

Oh, I love it. I regret that I can’t photo style it with a baguette and a bunch of bluebells — my package of English muffins and bouquet of rogue goldenrod doesn’t hit that hip lady in Amsterdam vibe. Or the Miss Marple vibe. Or the wife of an investment banker in Nantucket vibe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thirty bucks isn’t too much to pay (free shipping!) for a rich fantasy life and a vehicle in which I can return library books, is it? It’s so much prettier than the woven  pink plastic woven dealio that carried my textbooks home from high school.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love its retro convergence with my air horn. I love that it attaches to the handlebars with doll-sized leather belts : no screwdriver required. I love that I can remove it in a snap, and it’ll become my farmer’s market shopping bag.

Mostly I love that I’ve constructed the bike of my dreams. No gears. A comfortable saddle. The ability to sit up straight and watch the world, not the road. Serious exercise for legs and butt.  A Keystone Cop kinda air horn. And a basket I’ll take to TJ’s and load up with flowers, wine, and cheap snack food.

4 Comments

Filed under Body, Cheap and Cheerful Object of the Day, How Cool is That?, On the Street Where I Live, Worth it anyway

4 responses to “Object of the Day: Tisket! Taskit! Check Out My New Basket

  1. A Love Letter to a basket—Miss Ella would be PRAOUD!

    Cooler than cool, and needing neither baguette nor blossoms to enhance her charm. Kudos to the designer, engineer and stylist!

  2. Very cute! Best of its kind, i think.

  3. Patty

    That is one perfectly shaped and sized basket! So glad it finally arrived. A photo please when it’s full of wine and flowers…simply perfect.

  4. Kim Shook

    Oh, that is THE basket! It deserves a veritable ODE! If I ever get off my duff and cash in the groupon for bike tune up that has been stuck to my refrigerator for months, I am ordering that basket.

Leave a Reply

