Apron(s) Of the Day

The weather has cooled, and it’s as if degrees in the 80s are my favorite high 60s. I get up earlier, I have more energy, I think  about accomplishing  stuff like cleaning bathrooms and weeding, which were beyond me during the heat wave in July.

I went back to my roots and sewed a version of my “Farmhouse Lady” apron. I love the scalloped hem (not too visible because of my poor photography) and I’m mad about the farmhouse prints. I have a soft spot in my heart for this apron because it’s the first I ever made, in prints rooted from my stash.

Attention, Uncle Lloyd: Supermodel Willow showed up tonight, if only to show her ass as she scratches topsoil over shit.

Man, do I love these prints:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Verso:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s the apron, which I’m mad about.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The reverse:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a brand new apron, fun to make, practical, tied together at the sides, and featuring a full back as well as the front. It’s tied at the sides with twill tape, for much sizing adaptability. Amazing feature: it’s open at the bottom, so it can be used as a laundry bag or a receptacle for gathering beets or tomatoes from the garden.  I’m going to call it “Kitchen and Garden.” It’s tabard style.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bright print. Verso: A pretty, subdued, Chinese print:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s easy to wear, has deep pockets for garden trowels and random radishes, and I love twill tape ties:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I should have pulled the fabric down and straightened the apron. I’m not only a bad photographer, but a bad stylist. Note Willow burying, well, something.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a better idea of the swell properties of the apron. Clean, useful, plain.

If either apron strikes a chord and you want to buy it, shoot me a message.

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under A yard of fabric, Apron of the Day, Cheap and Cheerful Object of the Day, Needlework

3 responses to “Apron(s) Of the Day

  1. sparrowgrass

    Everytime I wander out to the garden without a basket, I end up wishing I had a apron to gather up into a pouch to hold tomatoes and peppers and okra. I end up using my t-shirt, but it is a poor substitute.

    • This apron, because it’s reversible and open at the bottom, when removed, can actually be used as a sack. It would hold a whole lotta tomatoes or okra. Come to think of it, it could also double as a laundry bag.

  2. kim shook

    I adore the neckline of the Farmhouse Lady apron! I will have a commission for you soon, Maggie. I just have to get some info and decide how to describe the person to you so that you can do that fabric-choosing magic that you do so well!

Leave a Reply

