World’s Cutest: Doughnuts

I’m Facebook friends with the pastry chef, cookbook author, and busy food and travel blogger David Leibovitz, whose The Perfect Scoop is still, to me, the revealed wisdom of all things ice cream, sorbet and granita. Today David posted a link to the Serious Eats website, which proposes that the World’s Cutest Doughnuts  come from Japan. Like, surprise, surprise!

All photos: [Photograph: floresta_mama on Twitpic]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If I got to choose my doughnut, I’d ask for the bewildered calico kitty front left.

 

They’re made by a chain called Floresta Nature Donuts. Here’s the 411 from Time Out Tokyo website:

“Floresta, which also goes under the tag name of ‘Nature Doughnuts’, is a growing contender on a national scale, with shops now in locations as far flung as Kyushu and Hokkaido. With its main shop in Nara, the owners are a husband and wife team who wanted to make guilt-free donuts that they could feel good about giving to children, so the flour, eggs, salt and sugar used are all organic and domestically produced. Floresta avoids the large batch production that many other outlets use, and only makes donuts as needed, meaning that they may well be sold out if you don’t get there early.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like organic and domestic, but if theses had the ingredient list of, say, Little Debbies, I doubt that your kid would hesitate a minute before he wrapped his grubby little hands around one of those bunnies.

Here are some “guilt free” frogs:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Four of each, please! And if they give baker’s dozens in Japan, I think I’d like an extra frog.

Here’s the link:http://www.seriouseats.com/2011/08/photo-of-the-day-cute-japanese-cat-doughnuts.html


3 Comments

Filed under Cheap and Cheerful Object of the Day, Cool Japanese Stuff, Food, Incredible Edible Egg

3 responses to “World’s Cutest: Doughnuts

  1. Bev

    They might be too cute to eat..well for a second anyway!

  2. Oh my gosh these really are the cutest donuts ever! I saw these on Serious Eats earlier too. I want some!

  3. kim shook

    OK – these ARE most certainly the cutest doughnuts I’ve ever seen. I believe that with a little practice I could manage to do a similar cupcake motif. Hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

