Apron of the Day: “Can I Get You Something From The Bar?”

Hey! I tried out a new apron today, which was a stitching wake-up. A new concept: an apron with the neck straps and the tie ends composed of three yards of twill tape. There’s a casing that runs from the bib to the side of the of the apron, and with a tug of the tape you can adjust the fit in a flash.

The apron Goddess Mary Mulari has a great pattern for this apron in its reversible form. I’d made a single-sided version for my cooking buddy and eGullet boss Dave seven (?) years ago, so I found that pattern, checked Mary’s website, and cooked up my version. It’s so plain it’s almost a waiter’s apron, but that’s part of the reason I love it. Lou liked it when he was forced to the photo shoot: Just pull at the tie ends and you can raise and lower the bib and adjust the waist ties to adjust to your own beautiful, unique bod.

Maybe this is a bartender’s apron? I had a fresh fun red martini print:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And a Chicago saloon shot and a beer print:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s the apronly result:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used grosgrain ribbon for the ties, because even the Divine Mary suggests that ribbon or twill tape are a better sewing alternative  thantrying to turn out a nine foot long fabric tube. For true sewing nerds: rejoice! OMG, go to http://www.twilltape.com. I have, like, 73 yards heading my way for fifteen bucks, including shipping. (They have twill tape in colors! )

Wow, it’s a beautiful night in the ‘Ville: I can turn off the A/C and open the windows. It’s been a couple of months since the curtains fluttering inside the bedroom window has been a possibility.

(If you’re interested in buying the apron, shoot me an email.)


 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under A yard of fabric, Apron of the Day, Cheap and Cheerful Object of the Day, Needlework, Sewing

2 responses to “Apron of the Day: “Can I Get You Something From The Bar?”

  1. kim shook

    Oh, my goodness, Maggie – that FABRIC! It is fantastic! So is longsufferinglou!

Leave a Reply

