Springtime Greetings from the ‘Ville

Sometime last week I posted my status on Facebook indicating that if I wanted the precipitation and grey skies of the Pacific Northwest, I’d be living there. Nine solid days of cold,rain, and overcast skies was robbing me of energy, optimism and valuable early gardening time. My friend Lloyd, a Seattle resident, scoffed politely. “Only nine cloudy days in a row? Pfui!” or words to that effect. Geez, the weather gods even threw in a few frost warnings.

Behold a view of the back yard, snapped yesterday:

Yes, we’re swamped. I suppose I should be glad that it’s been so freakin’ cold, otherwise we’d be Malaria Central. But see that white glow on the water’s surface? It’s sunshine!

To quote the poet:

Come, fill the Cup, and in the Fire of Spring
The Winter Garment of Repentance fling

It’s still too cold for any garment flinging — I mean, kids this Easter Sunday are shivering in their hoodies, not strutting in their Easter bonnets — but man, those few fleeting hours of sunshine! Our hearts lifted, we climbed out of the dumps and the grumps, energy and optimism returned…

But as I write this today, the world’s glum again. We received the gift of a few hours of Easter sunshine, but now it’s all shades of grey. I try to remind myself that rainy Sweden has been named World’s Happiest Country, (Canada was #3, the USA #13)and that England’s green and pleasant land’s that way because it’s cold and damp.

Cheerier news from the ‘Ville: my friend Richard from Grand Rapids sent me this link.http://vintagraph.com/wpa-posters/general-wpa-posters/8907514 Isn’t this WPA poster fab, ‘Villians and non ‘Villians alike?

5 Comments

Filed under Art, Cheap and Cheerful Object of the Day, Home, The 'Ville, Worth it anyway

5 responses to “Springtime Greetings from the ‘Ville

  1. Lloyd

    We had our Spring Friday and Saturday – it got all the way to 65 yesterday. Back to rain and 50 and grey today. Now we wait until after Canada Day/Independence Day for summer.
    When I was in Chicago a year ago next week, my memory is of breezy days in the 70s and low 80s – there’s hope, Margaret, there’s hope!

  2. I, too, am taking Lloyd’s words to heart—we once again are on the beginning of a dreary-wet-projected week.

    At least your outlook is sunny—I’m all snarl and grimace, inside, at least, and must have some SUN. We’ve sent four of the Vitamin Store Guy’s children through college this year, but only Sun from outside is going to help.

    May your Windy City blow in the Winds of Change.

  3. sparrowgrass

    40 days and 40 nights is the forecast here. My toilets are not flushing right because the drain field is saturated, the cellar has a pond in it, the sump pump is noisier than a freight train and has been running constantly, and the mud is so deep that some of my asparagus is unreachable. (Gasp!)

    However–the temperatures are pleasant, the birds are singing and feeding their babies (wrens in the new garage, phoebes above the back porch light, and bluebirds in the box on the porch post), hummingbirds are buzzing the feeder, and the world is ten million shades of green.

  4. Alex

    Thanks for the mention. We love Vintagraph. We have this one in our main bathroom:
    http://vintagraph.com/wpa-posters/health-and-safety-posters/2378904

    This one in a stairwell:
    http://vintagraph.com/wpa-posters/travel-tourism-posters/4439900

    And this one in the master bedroom:
    http://vintagraph.com/wpa-posters/general-wpa-posters/2453432

    Oh, and we got this one as a housewarming present for a friend who does mini-triathalons (or whatever they’re called):
    http://vintagraph.com/wpa-posters/health-and-safety-posters/2378907

  5. kim shook

    I guess we always want what we don’t got. It was HOT today and yesterday in Ole’ Virginny and I’m already dreading summer and yearning for fall! Cheer up, Mags – I spent the hottest summer of my LIFE in Chicago in 1980 – it’ll warm up!

Leave a Reply

