I Guess I’m Famous for my Deviled Eggs. Who Knew?

I had lunch with three dear friends from my Paychex days on Saturday, right here in the ‘Ville at the pub of the respected craft brewery Two Brothers. (David Chang has eight beers on his list at Momofuko — according to my astonished daughter, two are from Two Brothers.)

Gretchen and Jason both went through the excruciation of being my boss, and Jayne, an ex-teammate, is now a supervisor in her own right. It’s to their credit that they’re still friends with a payroll misfit like me.

When Gretchen slipped into the booth she gave me some awesome career news, and excited discussion ensued. After the fist-bumping died away her next words were: “James/Chad asked me to ask you for your recipe for deviled eggs.”

Why does this young man have a slashed first name? Paychex had an intelligent policy about the names of their Payroll Counselors: no two people at any branch could have the same first name. It sounds heavy-handed but it works: if, say, I’d screwed something up with a client, I could never say “Oh! You talked to the other Margaret — she’s new to the company.” ( I’d have loved to choose an alias like Esme or Jemima, but I digress.)

Chad’s real name was James and I remember him running alternate choices around the department as if it were as important as naming the new Space Shuttle. He plumped for Chad, and even though the other James left and he’s reclaimed his name, he’ll always be Chad to me. I haven’t seen or talked to him for four years.

The four of us had lots to talk about, and I forgot about Chad’s request until Gretchen forwarded me an email from him saying something like “So Gretchen, did you get Margaret’s Deviled Eggs recipe?” Gretchen’s a busy woman, and doesn’t need to field recipe requests. I promised her I’d get back to her today, and here it is. Chad, this is for you.

Margaret McArthur’s Deviled Eggs

  1. 6 hard boiled eggs (Chad: if you don’t know how to hard boil an egg, do some Googling.)
  2. 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  3. 1/2 t. salt
  4. lots of  fresh ground pepper
  5. 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  6. Hot sauce, as you like it.
  7. a pinch of curry powder

Split the eggs lengthwise, and remove the yolks to a dish. Mash the yolks with a fork until smooth, then add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. Spoon the yolk mixture into the hollows of the whites, and you’re done. It’s pretty to sprinkle the finished deviled eggs with paprika, or with a sprig of parsley. Like this:

3 Comments

Filed under A Couple of Bucks, Food, History, Incredible Edible Egg

3 responses to “I Guess I’m Famous for my Deviled Eggs. Who Knew?

  1. Gretchen

    I liked your garnish of chive flowers best!

  2. Me too, Boss, but the chives aren’t blooming yet. They are so pretty and taste good.

  3. sparrowgrass

    I put the yolk mix into the food processor and whir it up–makes it very smooth. Then I spoon it into a ziplock, and cut a corner off to pipe the filling into the whites. This works especially well if you are taking the eggs somewhere–fill them when you get there, then no problems with eggs sliding everywhere and getting mashed and ugly.

    Maggie, you know I am an eggs-pert on this topic.

Leave a Reply

