Apron of the Day: Also, Swat and Sweat

These are my worst-ever photos of an apron I’m very happy with. The color balance makes the background color of  the Christmas fabric look blue, when it’s a deep sprucey green. The Harvest festival/Hallowe’en/Thanksgiving side was fun to make, but hard to shoot.

Pourquoi? Because of the damn mosquitoes! The shoot was hurried because even in two minutes, we each flopped into the kitchen with between 8-14 bites apiece. The local NPR station ran a short bit tonight about how this might be the worst infestation of skitters in Chicago history The thing is: in many years, here in the burbs, the nibbling and gnashing begins in the evening. This summer those babies are biting at six am. What with the hottest summer in recorded memory and the bugs, I’m getting cabin fever in August!

I kind of love the gold rickrack trim on the pockets:

The verso:

The closeup:

Ok, I’m going to try to assemble some Cheap/Cheerful takes on today.

  1. A New Yorker in the mailbox. At 26 bucks a year that subscription might be the ultimate C&C deal. Loved the piece on Agatha Christie and the “Shouts and Murmurs” about Alex Trebek would have made me LOL if my hair hadn’t been plastered via sweat on my skull.
  2. My daughter and son-in-law arrived in Toronto with press credentials to the Rogers Cup. She’ll be able to attend the pressers and ask Federer and Nadal questions face to face. He’ll be mingling with the press photographers, shooting with that Nikon of his that is worth the down payment on a house in, say, Detroit.
  3. A pest control door to door salesman knocked and we could tell him that in this singular space in time we are pest-free.
  4. I have a Dove Bar in the fridge for later  consumption while I watch meteor showers, mosquitoes willing.
2 Comments

Filed under A yard of fabric, Apron of the Day, Food, Free, Needlework, Ten bucks or fewer

2 responses to “Apron of the Day: Also, Swat and Sweat

  1. kim shook

    Love this apron. I think that the next Maggie site needs to be a virtual apron store.

    Went and peeked at the Trebek article – very funny. It’s the only game show I’ve ever watched. My granddaddy loved it and LOVED when Mike or I could answer the questions before the contestants.

    I only got a 75% on the Christie quiz. I probably would have done better if more of the questions were actually ABOUT Dame Agatha or her writings (though I did know that the Pres gave the Queen an iPod – what the hell was THAT doing lurking in my brain?).

    • I adore Miss Marple. And my parents turned on Jeopardy at five every night. I mean, that game was interactive –we’d shout out answers. I’m thinking hard about an ecommerce apron site that isn’t etsy. My SIL is the obvious go-to, but that man is soooo busy.

Leave a Reply

