Apron of the Day: The Holiday Reversible

I’ve played around with the reversible apron.Sometimes I paired a tradition farmhouse calico with a Japanese print. I’ve used the same print in different colorways,  reversing the color for the pockets and yokes. I’ve made absurdist pockets, big pockets, tiny pockets, pockets trimmed with lace or rickrack or fabric yoyos. And any of you who follow my Parade of Aprons know how much fun I’ve been having with my yin/yang aprons, especially finding fabric for The Guy Side.

Last week  I thought about another way to feature the duality of the reversible apron. Although I’ve never before bought any, I can’t help but notice how much Christmas yardage there is in the shops and online. Hmmm. Why not a Holiday apron, one side suitable for  Christmas  and the other for Thanksgiving? In the case of this model it could triple for Hallowe’en.

This is the Christmas side , not too Christmassy from a distance.  The blue background and subtle print could give it a lifetime past Epiphany.

Here’s the Thanksgiving/Hallowe’en side. Please note the jumbo green rickrack on the pockets. Willow’s discovered there’s a photo shoot happening.

Don’t these pumpkins pop?

So what do you think? Is this Holiday idea going anywhere? I’m already considering the New Year’s edition — not practical, not reversible. Polish/Ukrainian “Ball Aprons,” short, flirty and saucy.

5 Comments

Filed under A yard of fabric, Apron of the Day, Needlework, Ten bucks or fewer

5 responses to “Apron of the Day: The Holiday Reversible

  1. Lloyd

    Etsy.com – Your place to buy and sell all things handmade, vintage …

  2. Patty

    The holiday idea will definitely work, though I love the everyday ones best. You have my attention with the Polish/Ukrainian Ball aprons… our close friends are wife-Polish/husband-Ukrainian, 1st generation…both cook. I will be a customer. Looking forward to seeing the fabric.

  3. kim shook

    I’d certainly buy one, Maggie. Most of my Christmas ones are getting a little raggedy and a couple of them are extremely matronly. I’d go for a cool one like that.

  4. kim shook

    PS – see my response to your comment re: girlfriends weekend on my blog.

  5. kouign aman

    I’d never reverse my apron – the one side would be too dirty to put next to me, but a frilly silly and yet festive and functional apron for parties? Oh yeah, baby. Yes ma’am.

Leave a Reply

