Fake Food, Site of the Day, and Amigurumi Banana Lucheros

I don’t know what the heck has happened to my right shoulder and my neck. I can’t turn right without screaming. I suspect it’s because I dragged an Ikea bag from the library over my shoulder with a twelve volume thirty  pound payload. It can’t be that I was propped up on my elbow in bed last night tackling the new Elizabeth George, because I’ve been propping and reading in bed since I was seven.

The only checkbox I managed today was Call Patty. Yeow, it hurts.

But even as my shoulder screamed as I leaned over my laptop, I did my minimal  internet strolling. I read the New York Times. I checked in at , my daughter’s tennis site http://www.gototennisblog.com/. And Rachel’s http://www.gototennisblog.com/http://www.gototennisblog.com/ And Dean’s

winespillseverywhere.blogspot.com/.

 

And my own secret guilty pleasure: Jezebel.com.http://jezebel.com/ This is a girly site born of the Gawker/Gizmondo Empire, and I think it’s fresh, funny and smart. Their “Midweek Madness” feature, where they read and evaluate the gossip mags is must read hilarity.

Thanks to Jezebel I found this amazing amigurumi pix of crocheted bananas turned Mexican wrestlers. I am in freaking awe.

It’s fake food, it’s funny, it’s irony, it’s felt, it’s crochet and it’s Mexican wrestling. I am not worthy.

So I’m gonna have a glass of wine and try to remember if it’s ice or a heat pad.

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under About a buck, Art, HeeHee, How Cool is That?, Site of the Day, Yarn

6 responses to “Fake Food, Site of the Day, and Amigurumi Banana Lucheros

  1. AWWWWW! Feel BETTER!!! A warm and purry cat on the offending site can do wonders—would yours comply?

  2. Giggle. No, they wouldn’t. They’ll crawl into my bed insisting on me stroking away THEIR aches and pains.

  3. Elizabeth George: Orange County, CA high school teacher. Represent.

    Banana crochet wrestlers… all’s I can say is SOMEbody over to Jezebel’s been rippin’ you off, M. Majorly.

  4. Thanks for the plug.

    I hate to correct you but they’re called luchadores (like matadors.) Anyway I could write a 5000 word essay about them but I don’t know anyone who would read it. Of course my favorite luchador is El Santo (wikipedia him). My favorite active luchador is Mistico, and I just spend a half hour looking for his best highlight video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3sqoY0hCOTU

    I am laughing about you reading Jezebel heehee 🙂

  5. Dean — thanks for the correction, and why am I not surprised that this is an area of your expertise? Write that essay! I’d read it.

    I’m gonna click on your link now. Cool.

  6. Kim Shook

    Feel better, Miss Maggie! If you put on a heating pad, the cats will cuddle and you will get the benefits of both the pad and kitties.

Leave a Reply

