C & C Earth Day Edition: Site of the Day

I had great plans to show you my curtain making activity for Lloyd’s bedroom,https://cheapcheer.wordpress.com/2010/04/18/the-countdown-to-lloyd/ until I realized I hadn’t taken any pictures and the curtains aren’t that interesting. But NPR Head that I am, I was besieged with Earth Day radio as I measured and hemmed and pressed and stitched. The pressing part was a match of wills. An ironing board is one of Willow’s favorite places to laze and watch me,  as I go about my trifling human activities like making curtains, telling yet another insurance agent that I don’t want an estimate, or making an egg salad sandwich for lunch.

As I hung the curtains to check out the length I noticed that the neglected guest room windows would need the old vinegar and water and newspaper treatment. I’m not a deep person, and  if I were asked to pass on some Old Lady Wisdom on my deathbed it wouldn’t be something  about living in the present, dancing as if no one were watching or going vegan. It would be: Forget the Squeedgie, and the Windex: Get a bowl of vinegar and water and the Business Section.

I’ve mused about the family disposition to newsprint. https://cheapcheer.wordpress.com/2010/03/27/newspaper-mashup/

But just futzing about today I found this cool site. As God is my witness (channeling the O’Hara extended family in “Gone With the Wind’ who stuffed newspapers into any available orifice for insulation)It’s terrific. Newsprint can remove stinky odors from shoes and food containers? That I didn’t know . Did you?

http://www.make-stuff.com/recycling/newspaper.html

I’ll have a forthcoming Master Class about origami hats folded from a broadsheet. But now, it’s all about washing windows.

6 Comments

Filed under Free, Holidays, How Cool is That?, Site of the Day

6 responses to “C & C Earth Day Edition: Site of the Day

  1. I bow to the Goddess of Uses for Stuff You Were Gonna Throw Away Anyhow.

    And I covet your origami talent, as well.

    And yes on the odor removal. For decades, we lost and threw out packages of food which had, though wrapped in very thick Glad Bags marked FREEZER, taken on the scent of something else residing on their ice-block. And each year, we defrosted, antibacterial-sprayed, dried, and stuffed the freezers with crumpled newspaper for a day or two.

    They’d emerge smelling of nothing at all—a result devoutly to be wished where food is concerned.

    (And then we realized that the culprit was all those bell peppers we’d halved, seeded, blanched and cupped together six-in-a-bag, for stuffing).

    But still, we wash/dry/stuff-in-paper. and the twenty-year-old freezer smells as fresh as the six-year-old one.

    Works for ice chests, even those little styrofoam thingies. Just wash, let dry, and throw in a section or two of newspaper—no need to stuff—and leave til you need it again. Next time you’re gonna picnic or go fishing, you’ll have a brand-fresh box to take along.

    And your creative energy knows no bounds.

  2. Yes, newsprint. WHAT are we going to do without it?

    Don’t have to find out just yet, THANKFULLY.

    OK. Off to survey curtainage.

  3. absurdoldbird

    Were you ever a fan of home-made papier mache using newspaper and flour and water paste? I remember so many sessions with my mum and the end result of grey papier mache being turned into all sorts of curious things.
    🙂

  4. Val, I believe those pumpkin masks my mother made were of the flour and water paste variety.

  5. Dave Scantland

    This year, Earth Day coincided with day 5 of the local station’s NPR fund drive. Anyone who pledged would get a tree planted in the Beltline Arboretum (next year, as said arboretum doesn’t yet exist). Last I heard (about 6:30), the nascent forest had a population upwards of 2000 trees. Botanical updates were bookended by pollen-count announcements (down to the mid-300s from last week’s 3000) without a hint of irony.

  6. The ‘Ville is a nationally recognized Tree City and I guess the tree to peeps ratio leans heavily towards trees. And speaking of pollen: the flowering occurs later here than in the ATL, but they are in their undisputed glory now and my eyes are stuck shut, I’m coughing up junk, and I’m still dazzled by my crabapple tree, decked, yes, like a bride.

Leave a Reply

